Merton Council Special Meeting of the Council

Membership

The Mayor: Councillor Krystal Miller

The Deputy Mayor: Councillor John Sargeant

Councillors: Agatha Mary Akyigyina, Stephen Alambritis, Mark Allison, Stan Anderson, Laxmi Attawar, Mark Betteridge, John Bowcott, Margaret Brierly, Richard Chellew, David Chung, Caroline Cooper-Marbiah, David Dean, John Dehaney, Nick Draper, Iain Dysart, Chris Edge, Suzanne Evans, Karin Forbes, Brenda Fraser, Samantha George, Suzanne Grocott, Maurice Groves, Jeff Hanna, Richard Hilton, James Holmes, Janice Howard, Mary-Jane Jeanes, Philip Jones, Andrew Judge, Linda Kirby, Gilli Lewis-Lavender, Logie Lohendran, Edith Macauley, Russell Makin, Maxi Martin, Peter McCabe, Diane Neil Mills, Oonagh Moulton, Ian Munn BSc, MRTPI(Rtd), Henry Nelless, Dennis Pearce, Judy Saunders, Linda Scott, Rod Scott, David Simpson CBE, Debbie Shears, Peter Southgate, Geraldine Stanford, Linda Taylor OBE, Sam Thomas, Ray Tindle, Gregory Patrick Udeh, Peter Walker, Martin Whelton, David Williams, Richard Williams, Miles Windsor and Simon Withey

Date: Wednesday 2 April 2014

Time: 21:00 or after the conclusion of the previous Council meeting, which ever is the later

Venue: Council chamber - Merton Civic Centre, London Road, Morden SM4 5DX

This is a public meeting and attendance by the public is encouraged and welcomed. For more information about the agenda please contact <u>democratic.services@merton.gov.uk</u> or telephone <u>020 8545 3361</u>.

All Press contacts: press@merton.gov.uk, 020 8545 3181

Special Meeting of the Council 2 April 2014

- 1) Apologies for absence
- 2) Declarations of interest
- 3) Freedom of The Borough

HONORARY FREEDOM OF THE BOROUGH

Council is recommended to agree to present each of the persons named below with a certificate conferring upon them the title of Honorary Freeman of the Borough affixed with the common seal of the Council.

The motion to be duly moved and seconded is:

That, by virtue of the power vested in it by Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council does admit Andy Murray, Virginia Wade, Ann Haydon-Jones and Angela Mortimer as Freemen of the London Borough of Merton in recognition of their achievements in winning a singles title at Wimbledon.

This honour is bestowed on Andy Murray in recognition of his being a British Winner of the Mens Singles Tennis Championship at the Wimbledon Grand Slam event in 2013. Andy Murray has brought significant reputational benefits to Merton as a place to visit and a good place to live, work and play. As well as enhancing Merton's reputation, he has also made a major contribution to the development of British Tennis and has raised its profile.

This honour is bestowed on Virginia Wade in recognition of her being a British Winner of the Ladies Singles Tennis Championships at the Wimbledon Grand Slam event in 1977. Virginia Wade, has brought significant reputational benefits to Merton as a place to visit and a good place to live, work and play. As well as enhancing Merton's reputation, she has also made a major contribution to the development and profile of British Tennis and raised the profile of both Tennis and Women in Sport.

This honour is bestowed on Ann Haydon-Jones in recognition of her being a British Winner of the Ladies Singles Tennis Championships at the Wimbledon Grand Slam event in 1969. Ann Haydon-Jones, has brought significant reputational benefits to Merton as a place to visit and a good place to live, work and play. As well as enhancing Merton's reputation, she has also made a major contribution to the development and profile of British Tennis and raised the profile of both Tennis and Women in Sport.

This honour is bestowed on Angela Mortimer in recognition of her being a British Winner of the Ladies Singles Tennis Championships at the Wimbledon Grand Slam event in 1961. Angela Mortimer, has brought significant reputational benefits to Merton as a place to visit and a good place to live, work and play. As well as enhancing Merton's reputation, she has also made a major contribution to the development and profile of British Tennis and raised the profile of both Tennis and Women in Sport.

<u>Note by Chief Executive:</u> Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 requires a resolution conferring the title of Honorary Alderman to be passed by not less than two thirds of the Members voting thereon.

Note on declarations of interest

Members are advised to declare any Disclosable Pecuniary Interest in any matter to be considered at the meeting. If a pecuniary interest is declared they should withdraw from the meeting room during the whole of the consideration of that mater and must not participate in any vote on that matter. If members consider they should not participate because of a non-pecuniary interest which may give rise to a perception of bias, they should declare this, .withdraw and not participate in consideration of the item. For further advice please speak with the Assistant Director of Corporate Governance.

This page is intentionally left blank